a book, a feather and a cup… and a rose

I was feeling totally in the mood to try some still lifes today. They are something I’ve always LOVED to look at and feel like I have a hard time coming up with.

So, since we were snowed in again today (and if weather is to be believed we can expect it again on Thursday… and Friday… and maybe Sunday too? seriously?). Anyway, during a relatively quiet moment I started looking around for things to take photos of.

edited ~ kk:everyday (normal blend)
edited ~ kk:everyday (normal blend)

This pewter cup belonged to Jared when he was little.

edited: kk-everday (multiply blend)
edited: kk-everday (multiply blend)
edited: kk-everyday (soft light blend)
edited: kk-everyday (soft light blend)

I also found this veeerrrry old book on our shelf (the inside says its a pocket Bible concordance. Can’t be sure of the actual date the book was made, but there are notes in there from 1782 people… so…. it belonged to my father-in-law). Anyways, love old books 🙂

edited: kk-monday (overlay blend)
edited: kk-monday (overlay blend)

I placed them all on my piece of burlap and brought out the macro filters. Had a fun time arranging and rearranging; then editing.

~~~~~

Kim Klassen dot com
12 thoughts on “a book, a feather and a cup… and a rose

  1. I like the softness of the edit on your fist shot of the cup; I especially like the macro shot of the feather on top of the book – simple and yet creative.

Leave a Reply

